Thursday, May 06, 2010

Nominations Announced For 2nd Annual Independent Theater Bloggers Association Awards

Nominations Announced For 2nd Annual Independent Theater Bloggers Association Awards

Earlier today, the slate of nominations for the 2nd Annual Independent Theater Bloggers Association (ITBA) Awards were announced. Award nominations were named for excellence in theatre on Broadway, as well as Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway.

The winners of ITBA Awards will be announced on May 20. In addition to specific show categories, ITBA winners will also include citations by individual performers from productions throughout New York City; however, the list of approximately 30 nominees is not being publicly divulged. Patrick Lee of Just Shows To Go You served as ITBA Awards Director.

The nominees include:

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
American Idiot
Everyday Rapture

Outstanding New Broadway Play
In The Next Room (Or The Vibrator Play)
Next Fall
Superior Donuts
Time Stands Still

Outstanding Broadway Revival of a Musical
Finian's Rainbow
La Cage Aux Folles
A Little Night Music

Outstanding Broadway Revival of a Play
Brighton Beach Memoirs
Lend Me A Tenor
A View From The Bridge

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
Circle Mirror Transformation
Clybourne Park
The Orphans' Home Cycle
The Temperamentals

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Bloodsong Of Love
Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
The Scottsboro Boys

Outstanding Off-Broadway Revival (Play or Musical)
The Glass Menagerie
A Lie Of The Mind
Twelfth Night

Outstanding Off-Off-Broadway Show
Alice In Slasherland
Girls In Trouble
In Fields Where They lay
Rescue Me
Samuel & Alasdair: A Personal History Of The Robot War
The Soup Show

Outstanding Solo Show (All Venues)
A Boy And His Soul
Zero Hour

Outstanding Unique Off-Off Broadway Experience
Taylor Mac's The Lily's Revenge

Citation for Excellence in Off-Off Broadway Theatre
Company XIV (Brooklyn)

Outstanding Ensemble Performance (All Venues)
Circle Mirror Transformation
A Lie Of The Mind
Twelfth Night

Formed in 2009 by a group of the most passionate theatre bloggers on the World Wide Web, the Independent Theater Bloggers Association (ITBA) is currently comprised of 50 bloggers from New York and well beyond who actively write about live theatre.

The members of the association regularly blog about all aspects and all varieties of both commercial and non-profit theater, from big Broadway musicals performed in Times Square, to the most unique forms of entertainment performed off-off Broadway on the Lower East Side, as well as productions all over the country and all over the world. Collectively, they see thousands of productions, and, without being paid or prodded, they write about them.

The Association was formed out of a desire to provide structure to the quickly growing theatrical blogosphere, as well as to give new media voices a chance to recognize excellence.

I'm proud to be a member of this fledgling organization, and I'm delighted to have already cast my ballot for the 2010 ITBA Awards.

This is Steve On Broadway (SOB).

In keeping with the new Federal Trade Commission (FTC) regulations that unfairly discriminate against bloggers, who are now required by law to disclose when they have received anything of value they might write about, please note that I have received nothing of value in exchange for this post.

Labels: , , , , , ,


At 07 May, 2010, Blogger Steve Schalchlin said...

This comment has been removed by the author.

At 07 May, 2010, Blogger Steve Schalchlin said...

So happy that you have recognized Zero Hour, which might have to close at the end of May. Please let everyone who is passionate about this show that we need promotional support now. Thank you.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Technorati blog directory Blog Directory & Search engine
Visitor Map

Powered by FeedBurner