Thursday, May 20, 2010

2nd Annual Independent Theatre Bloggers Association (ITBA) Awards Announced

2nd Annual Independent Theater Bloggers Association (ITBA) Awards Announced

Earlier today, the winners of the 2nd Annual Independent Theater Bloggers Association (ITBA) Awards were announced by Susan Blackwell, Jeannine Frumess and Ann Harada via YouTube video. ITBA Awards and Citations were named for excellence in theatre on Broadway, as well as Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway.

The winners include:

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
American Idiot - WINNER
Everyday Rapture

Outstanding New Broadway Play
In The Next Room (Or The Vibrator Play)
Next Fall
Superior Donuts
Time Stands Still

Outstanding Broadway Revival of a Musical
Finian's Rainbow
La Cage Aux Folles - WINNER
A Little Night Music

Outstanding Broadway Revival of a Play

Brighton Beach Memoirs
Lend Me A Tenor
A View From The Bridge - WINNER

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
Circle Mirror Transformation - WINNER
Clybourne Park
The Orphans' Home Cycle
The Temperamentals

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Bloodsong Of Love
Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
The Scottsboro Boys

Outstanding Off-Broadway Revival (Play or Musical)
The Glass Menagerie - WINNER
A Lie Of The Mind
Twelfth Night

Outstanding Off-Off-Broadway Show
Alice In Slasherland
Girls In Trouble
In Fields Where They lay
Rescue Me
Samuel & Alasdair: A Personal History Of The Robot War
The Soup Show
Viral - WINNER

Outstanding Solo Show (All Venues)
A Boy And His Soul - WINNER
Zero Hour

Outstanding Unique Off-Off Broadway Experience
Taylor Mac's The Lily's Revenge

Citation for Excellence in Off-Off Broadway Theatre
Company XIV (Brooklyn)

Outstanding Ensemble Performance (All Venues)
Circle Mirror Transformation - WINNER
A Lie Of The Mind
Twelfth Night

Citations for Excellence by Individual Performers (All Venues)
Nina Arianda - Venus In Fur
Kate Baldwin - Finian's Rainbow
Desiree Burch - The Soup Show
Rebecca Comtois - Viral
Viola Davis - Fences
Jon Michael Hill - Superior Donuts
Douglas Hodge - La Cage Aux Folles
Sarah Lemp - The Pied Pipers of the Lower East Side & Happy In The Poorhouse
Laura Linney - Time Stands Still
Jan Maxwell - The Royal Family & Lend Me A Tenor
Bobby Steggert - Ragtime & Yank!
Amy Lynn Stewart - Viral

Formed in 2009 by a group of the most passionate theatre bloggers on the World Wide Web, the Independent Theater Bloggers Association (ITBA) is currently comprised of over 50 bloggers from New York and well beyond who actively write about live theatre.

The members of the association regularly blog about all aspects and all varieties of both commercial and non-profit theater, from big Broadway musicals performed in Times Square, to the most unique forms of entertainment performed off-off Broadway on the Lower East Side, as well as productions all over the country and all over the world. Collectively, we see thousands of productions, and, without being paid or prodded, we write about them.

The Association was formed out of a desire to provide structure to the quickly growing theatrical blogosphere, as well as to give new media voices a chance to recognize excellence.

I'm proud to be a member of this fledgling organization, and I'm delighted to have cast my ballot for the 2010 ITBA Awards. I may not agree with all the choices, but it just demonstrates the broad range of interest within, and for that, I'm all the more proud.

This is Steve On Broadway (SOB).

In keeping with the new Federal Trade Commission (FTC) regulations that unfairly discriminate against bloggers, who are now required by law to disclose when they have received anything of value they might write about, please note that I have received nothing of value in exchange for this post.

Labels: , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

Technorati blog directory Blog Directory & Search engine
Visitor Map

Powered by FeedBurner